Visitors From 31 Other States and Territories Entering New Jersey Advised to Quarantine

Share this:

(Camden, NJ) – New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy has updated the advisory that individuals entering New Jersey from elsewhere quarantine themselves for 14 days upon entering the Garden State. The advisory now covers 31 states and territories.

States on the quarantine advisory list have either a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. This week, these states include: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Virgin Islands and Wisconsin.

Guam was added to the list this week, while Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana, which saw their positivity rates fall, have been removed from the list.

Travelers from these 31 states or territories or New Jersey residents returning from having spent time in these areas should self-quarantine in their home, hotel or other lodging and only go out for essential items or for medical care.

“With the continued, steady spread of the COVID-19 virus across much of our nation, it is important that steps are taken to minimize the spread of the virus here, where we have managed to keep rates lower. This is why we ask that everyone coming into our region from these states that are seeing high rates of transmission adhere to this advisory and quarantine themselves for 14 days,” said Freeholder Director Louis Cappelli Jr.