Freeholders Officially Become ‘Board of County Commissioners’

Share this:

(Camden, NJ) – On January 1, 2021, the Camden County Freeholder Board officially became the Camden County Board of County Commissioners. The change in title comes as a result of a law passed last year to eliminate the archaic and offensive ‘Freeholder’ and to replace it with a more common, inclusive, one.


The law does not change how the board is elected or operates, nor does it affect its responsibilities or authority. The change in title does not affect the elective terms of the board’s members.


“This change is long overdue to reflect the diversity in statewide public officeholders, and the desire of all county officials to attract prospective leaders from all walks of life,” said Commissioner Jonathan Young. “In the coming days and weeks, our residents should prepare to see changes to the board’s imagery and publications, and as well as how we are referred to in local media.”


The Board of County Commissioners consists of seven members, including:


Louis Cappelli, Jr. – Director

Term – January 2021 through December 2023


Edward T. McDonnell – Deputy Director

Term – January 2020 – December 2022


Jeffrey L. Nash

Term –  January 2019 – December 2021


Carmen G. Rodriguez

Term – January 2020 – December 2022


Jonathan L. Young, Sr

Term – January 2021 through December 2023


Melinda Kane

Term – January 2019 – December 2021


Al Dyer

Term – December 15, 2020 – December 2021


The Board will next meet for its annual reorganization meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 5, at noon.