Freedom Medal Presented to 12 Community Leaders

Share this:

On Wednesday, January 17th, 12 Camden County residents were honored for their selfless contributions to improving their community at the 2024 Camden County Freedom Medal Ceremony. The award, created by the Camden County Board of Commissioners in 2001, is presented to civic leaders who demonstrate ideals and actions that reflect the principles of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Since it began 23 years ago, more than 1,200 Camden County residents have received this prestigious honor. 


Each year the Board of Commissioners sets out to identify county residents who exemplify the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Specifically, residents who have made a specific contribution directed to his/her community that, over time, has made a significant, tangible improvement benefitting the people of the community. These accomplishments must be based strictly on volunteer work, excluding any remuneration.


“These incredible individuals have been shining examples of selflessness and sacrifice,” said Commissioner Jonathan Young. “These are the kinds of leaders that make Camden County such a wonderful place to live, and I admire the hard work and dedication they have put forth to improve their communities.” 

The 2024 Camden County Freedom Medal will be presented to the following residents:

Arthur Aston, Collingswood
May Brill, Cherry Hill
Robert Edward Cream, Pennsauken
Eunice Fay Crooks, Winslow Twp
Nimit Kaur, Bellmawr
Bernie Kofoet, Pennsauken
Cindy McCoy, Hi Nella
David Roeber, Haddon Heights
Kelly Thomas, Berlin
Raymond Watkins, Winslow Twp
Aletha R. Wright, Camden (posthumously)

The 2024 Camden County Congressional Award was also be presented to Camden County Sheriff Gilbert “Whip” Wilson.


More information on this year’s recipients is available at