Visitors From 16 States Advised to Quarantine in NJ

Share this:

(Camden, NJ) – New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy has advised that any individual entering New Jersey from 16 states seeing spikes in COVID-19 transmission is to quarantine themselves for 14 days upon entering the Garden State.

The advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a COVID-19 positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or anyone from a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. The 16 states that meet these benchmarks as of June 30 are: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah.

Travelers from these states or New Jersey residents from these states should self-quarantine in their home, hotel or other lodging and only go out for essential items or for medical care.

“The spread of the coronavirus is, unfortunately, not abating. So it is important for our state to take every step it can to not see our infection rates and hospitalizations climb back to the crisis levels we faced in March and April,” said Freeholder Director Louis Cappelli Jr. “We ask everyone coming into Camden County from these areas where COVID-19 is spreading rapidly right now to adhere to this quarantine.”