Chapter 4: About Camden County Government

Who runs a County? 

A county is run and governed by a Board of Commissioners who have authority over and responsibilities to the county. Commissioners are elected by that county’s residents. Commissioners are responsible for administering the law, representing county interests at the state and federal level, participating in long-range planning, and managing the county budget and finances. Each of Camden County’s seven commissioners have their own assignments and areas of focus within the county’s Departments.


How does the Commission system work?

The Camden County Board of Commissioners is a board of seven people who govern Camden County, New Jersey. It is led by the director and deputy director, who are chosen by the Board of Commissioners each year. Each commissioner serves a three-year term, with the terms staggered so that only two or three commissioners run for reelection in each election cycle. This simplifies each election cycle and ensures leadership continuity.


As of January 2023 Camden County’s Commissioners are:


Director Louis Cappelli Jr. (Term – January 2024 through December 2026) 

• Responsibilities: Leads the Commissioners and is responsible for county administration, and the public safety of county residents, working closely with the Camden County Police Department. 

• Accomplishments: Commissioner Director Cappelli upgraded the county’s emergency 911 system and merged the county’s mental health and substance abuse programs.

Deputy Director Edward T. McDonnell (Term – January 2023 through December 2025) 

• Responsibilities: All county finances, including personnel, purchasing, and insurance. Deputy Director McDonnell also supervises the superintendent of elections and the Board of Elections. 

• Accomplishments: A champion for programs and services for disabled people, Deputy Director McDonnell founded the first Miracle League Baseball Team in the state of New Jersey.

Commissioner Jeffrey L. Nash (Term –  January 2022 through December 2024) 

• Responsibilities: Works with the Department of Parks and community groups. Commissioner Nash improves public access to programs while improving their overall efficiency. 

• Accomplishments: Commissioner Nash led an expansion of Camden County College’s campus to Camden and Cherry Hill and financed a $90 million improvement to the college’s main campus in Blackwood.

Commissioner Jonathan L Young, Sr. (Term – January 2024 through December 2026) 

• Responsibilities and Achievements: Works closely with the Department of Public Safety, the Department of Corrections, the Juvenile Detention Center, the One-Stop Career Center, the Workforce Development board, and the Department of Sustainability, as well as with the Camden County Animal Shelter.

Commissioner Melinda Kane (Term – January 2022 through December 2024) 

• Responsibilities: Oversees the Office of Veterans Affairs, the Construction Board of Appeals, the Library Commission, and the Cultural & Heritage Commission.

Commissioner Al Dyer (Term – January 2022 through December 2024) 

• Responsibilities: Commissioner Dyer’s primary assignments include working closely with the Department of Public Works, the Camden County Planning Board, and the Mayors’ Association.

Commissioner Virginia Betteridge (Term – January 2023 through December 2025) 

• Responsibilities: Commissioner Betteridge’s primary assignments are oversight of the Department of Children, the Department of Health and Human Services, and the Board of Social Services.