Freedom Medal to Be Presented to 12 Community Leaders

Share this:

(Cherry Hill, NJ) – On Wednesday, Jan. 17, a ceremony will honor 12 Camden County residents for their selfless contributions to improving their community at the 2024 Camden County Freedom Medal Ceremony. The award, created by the Camden County Board of Commissioners in 2001, is presented to civic leaders who demonstrate ideals and actions that reflect the principles of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Since it began 23 years ago, more than 1,200 Camden County residents have received this prestigious honor.


Each year the Board of Commissioners sets out to identify county residents who exemplify the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Specifically, residents who have made a specific contribution directed to his/her community that, over time, has made a significant, tangible improvement benefitting the people of the community. These accomplishments must be based strictly on volunteer work, excluding any remuneration.


“These incredible individuals have been shining examples of selflessness and sacrifice,” said Commissioner Jonathan Young. “These are the kinds of leaders that make Camden County such a wonderful place to live, and I admire the hard work and dedication they have put forth to improve their communities.” 


The 2024 Camden County Freedom Medal will be presented to the following residents:

  • Arthur Aston, Collingswood
  • May Brill, Cherry Hill
  • Robert Edward Cream, Pennsauken
  • Eunice Fay Crooks, Sicklerville
  • Nimit Kaur, Bellmawr
  • Bernie Kofoet, Pennsauken
  • Cindy McCoy, Hi Nella
  • David Roeber, Haddon Heights
  • Kelly Thomas, Berlin
  • Raymond Watkins, Sicklerville
  • Aletha R. Wright, Camden (Posthumously)


The 2024 Camden County Congressional Award will also be presented at the ceremony and the recipient is to be announced.


More information on this year’s recipients is available at