Commissioner Melinda Kane and Congressman Donald Norcross Honor Medal of Honor Recipients at Audubon High School

Share this:

Commissioner Melinda Kane joined Congressman Donald Norcross and Mayor Robert Jakubowski on Tuesday to celebrate National Medal of Honor Day and commemorate the three Audubon natives who received this prestigious award.


Audubon has been called the most patriotic small town in America, as it is the hometown of three Medal of Honor Recipients: Samuel M. Sampler, WWI; Nelson V. Brittin, WWII and the Korean War; and Edward C. Benfold, the Korean War.


“National Medal of Honor Day celebrates members of the armed forces who demonstrate unmatched bravery and display courage, sacrifice, patriotism and commitment,” said Kane, who also serves as the liaison to the Department of Veterans Affairs. “Audubon has a particularly unique situation in which three Medal of Honor recipients called this community their hometown. These men made put their lives on the line for the love of their country and for that, we will always be grateful.


Since its inception during the Civil War, the Medal of Honor has been awarded to more than 3,500 members of the U.S. Military. Recipients are selected based on their demonstration of bravery in combat at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty.